Thursday, August 5, 2010

Columbia County Farmers Receive Ag Disaster Declaration

August 5, 2010

Columbia County Receives Agricultural Disaster Assistance Declaration

ST. HELENS--Columbia County farmers are eligible for disaster assistance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for potential losses from last December’s freezing temperatures.

USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack approved a disaster declaration request from Washington County on August 2nd for damage to crops from low temperatures that occurred between December 1st and 13th, 2009. Due to the way the USDA disaster declaration process works, farmers in counties contiguous to Washington County are also eligible, making the declaration applicable to Columbia County.

This declaration opens up certain types of assistance for farmers, according to Derek White with Columbia County Emergency Management. “Farmers here are able to apply for disaster assistance from the Farm Service Agency. That assistance, if the applicant is eligible, ranges from emergency loans to supplemental revenue assistance payments”, White says.

Farmers have until April 2nd, 2011 to apply. Assistance applications must be filed at the nearest Farm Service Agency (FSA) office, which is located at:

Washington County FSA
1080 SW Baseline, Suite B2
Hillsboro, OR 97123

For questions about the program, please contact the Washington County FSA office at 503-648-3174.